Three Co-Chairpersons Head VMRO Party

Sofia, February 12 (BTA) - The VMRO-Bulgarian National Movement party elected three chairpersons at an extraordinary congress held here on Saturday. Leader Krassimir Karakachanov resigned after the party won just over 1 per cent of the votes at the November 14, 2021 elections.

The delegates voted unanimously in favour of the new chairpersons Angel Dzhambazki, Iskren Vesselinov and Alexander Sidi. Until now, Dzhambazki was the party's deputy chair and is an MEP for a second term, Vesselinov was also deputy chair, and Sidi was a member of the national leadership. Organization secretary Yulian Angelov was elected Secretary General.

Opening the congress, Karakachanov said the country was going through hard times due to COVID and the economic crisis. Reviewing the past three years, he said that as part of the power-sharing coalition in the Boyko Borissov cabinet, VMRO kept a hard line which "prevented a setback in the relations with North Macedonia". DD

Source: Sofia